New/Returning Player Information - updated 18/03/2017

Welcome to the NWN forums!
Sapphire
Posts: 439
Joined: 17 May 2016, 21:40
Location: UK England, Midlands

Re: New/Returning Player Information - updated 18/03/2017

Post by Sapphire » 11 Dec 2018, 01:18

This is extremely weird I would suggest then you reinstall the game from scratch using only one monitor during the whole process ...

People do these days dual or even treble boot so the can in effect play multiple characters and have no issues doing so but each requires its own set of CD keys...

Why your camera angles don't seem to behaving themselves is beyond my experiencies over the last 15 years or so of playing...

Gold edition nor platinum nor diamond editions are the original I spoke of ... But I am aware with each of these there were things that were changed and omitted with each version... Both my original disks are from the days when NWN was level 20 max pre SoU and HoTU...
0 x

southead
Posts: 145
Joined: 01 Dec 2015, 12:20

Re: New/Returning Player Information - updated 18/03/2017

Post by southead » 11 Dec 2018, 11:28

Welcome Back Novoshijak! I'm no expert, but have you tried updating your graphics drivers? Also are you running AMD or Nvidia?

WSGF (Wide Screen Gaming Forums) reports NWN multi-monitor support as Native
0 x

Novoshijak
Posts: 24
Joined: 10 Dec 2018, 21:39

Re: New/Returning Player Information - updated 18/03/2017

Post by Novoshijak » 11 Dec 2018, 14:39

Graphics card is AMD and I keep the drivers up to date pretty frequently... last driver update was only a week or so ago...

I have set the game to run in compatibility mode for windows xp sp3 as it doesn't seem to run at all without that setting....


I have also tried a couple of third party programs to lock the cursor to one screen with no luck... The programs do work to lock the cursor out of game, but when I run nwn, they seem to have no effect, as the lack of screen edge problem returns...
0 x

southead
Posts: 145
Joined: 01 Dec 2015, 12:20

Re: New/Returning Player Information - updated 18/03/2017

Post by southead » 11 Dec 2018, 14:46

IDK if AMD offers the same thing, but NVIDA allows you to change individual settings for each game in the driver settings... Might be worth playing around with your drivers?
0 x

User avatar
Alkarl
Posts: 430
Joined: 09 Nov 2015, 19:20
Location: Newcastle, NSW

Re: New/Returning Player Information - updated 18/03/2017

Post by Alkarl » 11 Dec 2018, 17:34

It's sometimes a problem with multi-monitor setups, try Cursor Lock. I usually just use the keyboard for moving the camera.
0 x

Novoshijak
Posts: 24
Joined: 10 Dec 2018, 21:39

Re: New/Returning Player Information - updated 18/03/2017

Post by Novoshijak » 14 Dec 2018, 00:34

Thanks for the help everyone!

After a bit of fiddling around, I managed to get 'Cursor Lock' to work, so thanks for that suggestion Alkarl! :D
0 x

Squiz with Moobs
Posts: 6
Joined: 10 May 2019, 17:38

Re: New/Returning Player Information - updated 18/03/2017

Post by Squiz with Moobs » 10 May 2019, 17:53

Hello everyone!

Player from node days looking to return :)

I logged in today and I noticed a warning at the bottom of the screen saying my CD key wasn't unique. I grabbed the GOG version as I'd lost my old details.

It said to check the thread in the forum. I did a search and I couldnt find anything except something mentioned earlier this thread that wasnt quite the same thing. Sorry if its here and I just couldnt see it.

What can I do to fix this?

Cheers

Squirrel with Manboobs
0 x

User avatar
Alkarl
Posts: 430
Joined: 09 Nov 2015, 19:20
Location: Newcastle, NSW

Re: New/Returning Player Information - updated 18/03/2017

Post by Alkarl » 10 May 2019, 20:10

Hmm... Maybe it doesn't exist anymore... but this should help.

https://support.gog.com/hc/en-us/articl ... ts-Diamond
0 x

Sapphire
Posts: 439
Joined: 17 May 2016, 21:40
Location: UK England, Midlands

Re: New/Returning Player Information - updated 18/03/2017

Post by Sapphire » 10 May 2019, 22:06

Looks as if you managed a fix as I briefly was the one whom said Hello when I saw you in game... Welcome aboard hope you have fun once again ...
0 x

Squiz with Moobs
Posts: 6
Joined: 10 May 2019, 17:38

Re: New/Returning Player Information - updated 18/03/2017

Post by Squiz with Moobs » 10 May 2019, 22:17

Thanks Sapphire. Real life interrupted me. :) It still lets me log on, just comes up with the warning.

Ill check that out Alkarl, cheers for that.
0 x

André Axe'm
Posts: 748
Joined: 03 Dec 2015, 16:59

Re: New/Returning Player Information - updated 18/03/2017

Post by André Axe'm » 11 May 2019, 08:56

If you created an account with the GoG key, its not secure. If you can get a multiplayer key and catch me on Discord in the next few days I can fix it up for you.
0 x

Squiz with Moobs
Posts: 6
Joined: 10 May 2019, 17:38

Re: New/Returning Player Information - updated 18/03/2017

Post by Squiz with Moobs » 11 May 2019, 10:57

Thanks alot Andre, much appreciated. I have the alternate gog cd key that's different to the one that it installs with.
0 x

Squiz with Moobs
Posts: 6
Joined: 10 May 2019, 17:38

Re: New/Returning Player Information - updated 18/03/2017

Post by Squiz with Moobs » 22 Jun 2019, 10:13

Hi. I *think* Im putting this in the right spot. So I installed again recently on my old computer to get back into it, it was a macbook booted into windows. Played fine on external 3440x1440 monitor, same one Im using with new computer. Now Ive installed (well, copy and paste of previous install as the new one had a cd issue again so figured just use the old install at suggestion of a friend) on a new PC Ive lost my GUI. No chat bar/quick bar, the top right icon and set of 8 buttons (including the one for rest) are gone. Ive tried hitting "H" to show/hide gui as per controls, no luck. Ive restarted. Ive tried most of the resolution options and they all dont have a GUI except 1440x900. When I use that it has the gui, can be turned off and on when I push "H" but it goes down to about 2-3 fps and the graphics look like quake 1: diagonals are step ladders. Ive searched google somewhat but cant seem to find much about this. Anyone come across this before? Any suggestions? Thanks in advance :)
0 x

André Axe'm
Posts: 748
Joined: 03 Dec 2015, 16:59

Re: New/Returning Player Information - updated 18/03/2017

Post by André Axe'm » 22 Jun 2019, 14:37

Compatibility mode: Win XP SP 3?
0 x

User avatar
Thorns
Posts: 21
Joined: 14 Dec 2015, 22:34

Re: New/Returning Player Information - updated 18/03/2017

Post by Thorns » 02 Jul 2019, 19:16

Squiz with Moobs wrote:
22 Jun 2019, 10:13
Hi. I *think* Im putting this in the right spot. So I installed again recently on my old computer to get back into it, it was a macbook booted into windows. Played fine on external 3440x1440 monitor, same one Im using with new computer. Now Ive installed (well, copy and paste of previous install as the new one had a cd issue again so figured just use the old install at suggestion of a friend) on a new PC Ive lost my GUI. No chat bar/quick bar, the top right icon and set of 8 buttons (including the one for rest) are gone. Ive tried hitting "H" to show/hide gui as per controls, no luck. Ive restarted. Ive tried most of the resolution options and they all dont have a GUI except 1440x900. When I use that it has the gui, can be turned off and on when I push "H" but it goes down to about 2-3 fps and the graphics look like quake 1: diagonals are step ladders. Ive searched google somewhat but cant seem to find much about this. Anyone come across this before? Any suggestions? Thanks in advance :)
You indicate in your post that you have copied and pasted files across from one computer to another because of a CD issue. Is that correct? If so, that is likely the cause of your problem. There are probably registry issues, ini issues and a bunch of other problems that I wouldn't even be able to pronounce. I hope I am not telling you how to suck eggs and I may be totally off track but you can't just copy an paste game directories from one PC to another. You will need to reinstall it. Hope that works.

Good luck. Hope to see you in Edon.
0 x

André Axe'm
Posts: 748
Joined: 03 Dec 2015, 16:59

Re: New/Returning Player Information - updated 18/03/2017

Post by André Axe'm » 03 Jul 2019, 09:42

If you don't want to reinstall, find the Critical Rebuild program. That will restore the registry data. However, I think it rebuilds to version 1.68, so you then need to patch back to 1.69.
0 x

User avatar
Sathias
Posts: 1809
Joined: 05 Nov 2015, 16:59
Contact:

Re: New/Returning Player Information - updated 18/03/2017

Post by Sathias » 03 Jul 2019, 11:29

Thorns wrote:
02 Jul 2019, 19:16
Squiz with Moobs wrote:
22 Jun 2019, 10:13
Hi. I *think* Im putting this in the right spot. So I installed again recently on my old computer to get back into it, it was a macbook booted into windows. Played fine on external 3440x1440 monitor, same one Im using with new computer. Now Ive installed (well, copy and paste of previous install as the new one had a cd issue again so figured just use the old install at suggestion of a friend) on a new PC Ive lost my GUI. No chat bar/quick bar, the top right icon and set of 8 buttons (including the one for rest) are gone. Ive tried hitting "H" to show/hide gui as per controls, no luck. Ive restarted. Ive tried most of the resolution options and they all dont have a GUI except 1440x900. When I use that it has the gui, can be turned off and on when I push "H" but it goes down to about 2-3 fps and the graphics look like quake 1: diagonals are step ladders. Ive searched google somewhat but cant seem to find much about this. Anyone come across this before? Any suggestions? Thanks in advance :)
You indicate in your post that you have copied and pasted files across from one computer to another because of a CD issue. Is that correct? If so, that is likely the cause of your problem. There are probably registry issues, ini issues and a bunch of other problems that I wouldn't even be able to pronounce. I hope I am not telling you how to suck eggs and I may be totally off track but you can't just copy an paste game directories from one PC to another. You will need to reinstall it. Hope that works.

Good luck. Hope to see you in Edon.
Strange, copying to another PC has always worked for me... I've provided Squiz with my install and he's going to try copying it from his old PC also.

Looks like there's a v1.69 critical rebuild available here

https://neverwintervault.org/project/nw ... ld-english
0 x
"Put the damn gun down, boy. It aint no toy." - Lite

Post Reply