XCOM 2

This might not be chess, but choose your next move carefully.
User avatar
Kinky Kel
Posts: 224
Joined: 05 Nov 2015, 21:59

Re: XCOM 2

Post by Kinky Kel » 17 Feb 2016, 11:04

When the AVATAR Project bar fills its' squares up, it starts an 18 day countdown timer. In those 18 days you can still run blacksite missions and what not to knock squares off the avatar project again. This will both reset the timer and return the AVATAR project back to being just squares that fill up. Also when you complete black site missions, it prevents the AI from gaining any squares on the main AVATAR project (The one in the middle of the ocean on the map) for, from what I can tell, a full month. So if you bounce around all the facilities over the course of many months you are basically completely shutting down the AVATAR project. That's from my experience anyway.

@Sathias I love the specialists too, I usually go a hybrid, where I'll have both healing skills and remote mech hacking skills. Makes for a versatile specialist. Mind you having the guaranteed damage from the combat protocol is also very nice.

@storm84 while it only drops 1 square off the project, it delays their next tick by a month (From what I've found playing).
0 x

User avatar
storm84
Posts: 1692
Joined: 08 Nov 2015, 16:58
Location: ACT
Contact:

Re: XCOM 2

Post by storm84 » 17 Feb 2016, 12:38

Thanks for the info. If nothing else, it was pretty satisfying to knock off that blacksite, so it's good if it has flow-on effects.

I'm still trying to work out what Intel does as a currency in the game. Is it mainly for using it as a commodity to trade on the black market with, or are there other uses for it that warrant saving it up?
0 x
Image

User avatar
Mini
Posts: 2847
Joined: 05 Nov 2015, 17:31
Location: Bendigo
Contact:

Re: XCOM 2

Post by Mini » 17 Feb 2016, 13:17

I started a blacksite last night, and was up to using the skull jack for the first time... was not my best move...
Thinking I might reload my game prior to that mission and attempting another mission with the skull jack before heading into the blacksite.

Although having my sniper on a roof top and 1 shotting guys was awesome... need to get him into good positions more often.
0 x
Proudly supporting Player Attack through Patreon

Battle.Net - MiniSanders#1895
uPlay - mini15michael
Steam - RtD>MiniSanders
Origin - MiniSanders
Player Attack Discord

User avatar
Kinky Kel
Posts: 224
Joined: 05 Nov 2015, 21:59

Re: XCOM 2

Post by Kinky Kel » 17 Feb 2016, 14:25

Intel is primarily used to make contact with new regions. If you don't have any towers built in your zones it's starts costing a lot of intel when you make new contact. I'd stockpile it though, I used it mainly to buy gun mods from the black market.
0 x

ParadoxicalJoker
Posts: 35
Joined: 01 Dec 2015, 21:31

Re: RE: Re: XCOM 2

Post by ParadoxicalJoker » 17 Feb 2016, 16:49

Sathias wrote:Oh and I really really hate Codex. Cheapest enemy ever.
Have you tried flashbangs against them? Knocks the cheap right out of them for a turn or two.
Kinky Kel wrote:Intel is primarily used to make contact with new regions. If you don't have any towers built in your zones it's starts costing a lot of intel when you make new contact. I'd stockpile it though, I used it mainly to buy gun mods from the black market.
Some Dark Events also require a small sum of intel to reveal their effects.
0 x

User avatar
storm84
Posts: 1692
Joined: 08 Nov 2015, 16:58
Location: ACT
Contact:

Re: XCOM 2

Post by storm84 » 20 Feb 2016, 12:03

Kinky Kel wrote:@storm84 while it only drops 1 square off the project, it delays their next tick by a month (From what I've found playing).
In the same month when I knocked off the blacksite, the tick went back on at the end of it. Thought I'd bought some time for research and stuff - now I'm scrambling to get to the next Advent mission (contact with China or something).
0 x
Image

User avatar
Sathias
Posts: 1708
Joined: 05 Nov 2015, 16:59
Contact:

Re: XCOM 2

Post by Sathias » 20 Feb 2016, 12:33

Kinky Kel wrote:@storm84 while it only drops 1 square off the project, it delays their next tick by a month (From what I've found playing).
It seems to be variable, I did a alien base destruction mission earlier that dropped 4 off the timer.
0 x
"Put the damn gun down, boy. It aint no toy." - Lite

User avatar
Mythor
Posts: 1378
Joined: 05 Nov 2015, 16:48
Contact:

Re: XCOM 2

Post by Mythor » 20 Feb 2016, 16:17

The longer a blacksite stays up the more pips it accrues. Don't know if it makes the missions any harder though.
0 x
"Me ate truck once." - Cookie Monster
Player Attack! - Diablo 3 Clan Details

User avatar
Sathias
Posts: 1708
Joined: 05 Nov 2015, 16:59
Contact:

Re: XCOM 2

Post by Sathias » 20 Feb 2016, 16:30

Mythor wrote:The longer a blacksite stays up the more pips it accrues. Don't know if it makes the missions any harder though.
Ah that makes sense, this one had been up for quite some time. By the looks of the mission I did I think it keeps the same difficulty and types of enemies as when it was spawned.
0 x
"Put the damn gun down, boy. It aint no toy." - Lite

User avatar
storm84
Posts: 1692
Joined: 08 Nov 2015, 16:58
Location: ACT
Contact:

Re: XCOM 2

Post by storm84 » 20 Feb 2016, 17:11

Mythor wrote:The longer a blacksite stays up the more pips it accrues. Don't know if it makes the missions any harder though.
Fair enough. If that's the case, then I suppose I can hang off on rushing to get to the two blacksites that have popped up in China and Brazil respectively, though it does feel like I really do need to get my comms network up and running soon.
0 x
Image

User avatar
Fireslide
Posts: 82
Joined: 05 Nov 2015, 17:01
Location: Adelaide

Re: XCOM 2

Post by Fireslide » 21 Feb 2016, 19:21

I tried a commander ironman game with some mods. Everything was okish until the defense mission. Then I lost everyone.
0 x

User avatar
storm84
Posts: 1692
Joined: 08 Nov 2015, 16:58
Location: ACT
Contact:

Re: XCOM 2

Post by storm84 » 21 Feb 2016, 20:25

Knocked out every mission I had with an excellent or above, gathered a bunch of resources, built up my base, researched a bunch of things, and picked up Intel and engineers. "This last month was mediocre" was the report, as the avatar countdown shot from 5 to 8.

Now I'm scrambling to get contact with those distant regions where the blacksite missions are. Though every time I try, I keep being called back to my base continent to deal with some threat. Methinks this run is going to end badly.
0 x
Image

User avatar
Mini
Posts: 2847
Joined: 05 Nov 2015, 17:31
Location: Bendigo
Contact:

Re: XCOM 2

Post by Mini » 22 Feb 2016, 08:36

Ok, this first run through is going to be a complete failure, but I have learnt a fair bit in the process.
2 things I have worked out
- research armour quicker, the extra health is very handy
- the stun baton is awesome as a weapon, get it as fast as possible...

Still haven't got any Psi troops, 1 is currently training, so will know more about them once I get that.
Think it is time for doing the first black site mission, I tried earlier and failed miserably, so another attempt is required.

Also learning strategies of which guy needs to shoot and move first, especially when the idea of grenades are thought about.
I have started using my grenadier first and attempting to remove cover.
0 x
Proudly supporting Player Attack through Patreon

Battle.Net - MiniSanders#1895
uPlay - mini15michael
Steam - RtD>MiniSanders
Origin - MiniSanders
Player Attack Discord

User avatar
Sathias
Posts: 1708
Joined: 05 Nov 2015, 16:59
Contact:

Re: RE: Re: XCOM 2

Post by Sathias » 22 Feb 2016, 09:52

storm84 wrote:Knocked out every mission I had with an excellent or above, gathered a bunch of resources, built up my base, researched a bunch of things, and picked up Intel and engineers. "This last month was mediocre" was the report, as the avatar countdown shot from 5 to 8.

Now I'm scrambling to get contact with those distant regions where the blacksite missions are. Though every time I try, I keep being called back to my base continent to deal with some threat. Methinks this run is going to end badly.
I wouldn't be too worried, I got to the end of the timer and on the final countdown 3 times, since then I've pegged them back to only having 5 blocks on the timer. I've pretty much researched everything now and just destroying missions. Game seems to be throwing Colonels at me too, two sharpshooters and a specialist as ready built colonels just yesterday.

Sent from my SM-G920I using Tapatalk
0 x
"Put the damn gun down, boy. It aint no toy." - Lite

User avatar
Mini
Posts: 2847
Joined: 05 Nov 2015, 17:31
Location: Bendigo
Contact:

Re: XCOM 2

Post by Mini » 25 Feb 2016, 11:04

Going to go for my first Blacksite mission tonight... Should be able to get the 6th member into the field... and hopefully have my A team ready to go.
I love being able to create characters and then looking out for them.

I obviously created myself, and I have ended up being a Ranger... and have the highest kills, even though I end up gravely wounded after every mission and miss every second mission.

Need some more Dragon ammo though... love shooting at people and having them burn to death on their next turn. The poison just doesn't do as much...
0 x
Proudly supporting Player Attack through Patreon

Battle.Net - MiniSanders#1895
uPlay - mini15michael
Steam - RtD>MiniSanders
Origin - MiniSanders
Player Attack Discord

User avatar
Darius359au
Posts: 366
Joined: 06 Nov 2015, 15:14
Location: Adelaide

Re: XCOM 2

Post by Darius359au » 25 Feb 2016, 17:23

Fusion blade is good aswell , set them on fire and/or cut them in half :D
0 x
Image

User avatar
storm84
Posts: 1692
Joined: 08 Nov 2015, 16:58
Location: ACT
Contact:

Re: XCOM 2

Post by storm84 » 27 Feb 2016, 11:54

Knocked off a second blacksite mission. This one was a lot easier - once I worked out how to navigate the map and not set off too many patrols at the same time. Avatar Project back down to 7. Now I have a UFO hunting me, though it's unrelated to my blacksite success.

Still really enjoying this game, though I can't help shake that feeling I'm not doing the base management / upgrades / research quite right yet.
0 x
Image

User avatar
Sathias
Posts: 1708
Joined: 05 Nov 2015, 16:59
Contact:

Re: XCOM 2

Post by Sathias » 27 Feb 2016, 14:03

Finished the game last night, now thinking about an Ironman game to see how that goes.
0 x
"Put the damn gun down, boy. It aint no toy." - Lite

User avatar
Mini
Posts: 2847
Joined: 05 Nov 2015, 17:31
Location: Bendigo
Contact:

Re: XCOM 2

Post by Mini » 27 Feb 2016, 17:00

Well that mission went pear shaped...
Ended up coming out with 5/6 being gravely wounded, with the last lightly wounded..
Stupid shield bearer and mech...

Image
0 x
Proudly supporting Player Attack through Patreon

Battle.Net - MiniSanders#1895
uPlay - mini15michael
Steam - RtD>MiniSanders
Origin - MiniSanders
Player Attack Discord

User avatar
storm84
Posts: 1692
Joined: 08 Nov 2015, 16:58
Location: ACT
Contact:

Re: XCOM 2

Post by storm84 » 27 Feb 2016, 17:12

At least you got a few promotions out of it.
0 x
Image

User avatar
kharis
Posts: 3017
Joined: 05 Nov 2015, 20:59
Location: 127.0.0.1
Contact:

Re: XCOM 2

Post by kharis » 28 Feb 2016, 11:17

yay got it done, since watching that video though i laugh every time the advent soldiers say donuts

lost my sniper in the last mission though, damn that was annoying
0 x
Image

User avatar
Sathias
Posts: 1708
Joined: 05 Nov 2015, 16:59
Contact:

Re: XCOM 2

Post by Sathias » 29 Feb 2016, 10:08

Ironman run is going pretty well so far, about 10 missions in without losing anyone. Touch wood :)

Sent from my SM-G920I using Tapatalk
0 x
"Put the damn gun down, boy. It aint no toy." - Lite

User avatar
Bicketybam
Posts: 441
Joined: 05 Nov 2015, 18:45

Re: XCOM 2

Post by Bicketybam » 29 Feb 2016, 11:58

So how does the game run for every body? Smooth or a bit laggy? I just ask because a few YT's that I've watched seem to show a bit of lag on some decent systems and I don't know if that is the game or just being introduced because of whatever recording software they use.
0 x
Image

User avatar
Sathias
Posts: 1708
Joined: 05 Nov 2015, 16:59
Contact:

Re: XCOM 2

Post by Sathias » 29 Feb 2016, 13:17

My machine has a decent video card but is otherwise around 4 years old, I get a lot of lag during the loading screen but it's pretty smooth in game. Afaik they are working on performance issues.

Sent from my SM-G920I using Tapatalk
0 x
"Put the damn gun down, boy. It aint no toy." - Lite

User avatar
Darius359au
Posts: 366
Joined: 06 Nov 2015, 15:14
Location: Adelaide

Re: XCOM 2

Post by Darius359au » 29 Feb 2016, 13:38

I've had it get laggy on the map screen aswell as the load screen ,it'd gotten that way as the games progressed and I've contacted more areas but the actual combat maps have been great!
0 x
Image

Post Reply