SNR and Line Attenuation

Post Reply
User avatar
Treloar
Posts: 112
Joined: 28 Nov 2015, 09:57
Location: Australia

SNR and Line Attenuation

Post by Treloar » 15 Mar 2018, 04:09

Are these bad :?:
Image
0 x

User avatar
Sathias
Posts: 1712
Joined: 05 Nov 2015, 16:59
Contact:

Re: SNR and Line Attenuation

Post by Sathias » 15 Mar 2018, 07:31

I used to have that modem (is it a Billion 7800 range?) and you might actually be able to squeeze a bit more speed out of your line by manually adjusting the SNR down to 3 or 4. You'd need to Google your exact modem to find out, its accessed via a hidden page (usually /snr.cgi) but the values you enter to adjust depends on your model.

Be careful though, your mileage may vary and it can make your connection unstable if you drop it too low. If it's unstable you can return it to its default values.

Using that method I managed to get an extra 40-50% sync speed, but my speeds were much worse than yours to begin with.
0 x
"Put the damn gun down, boy. It aint no toy." - Lite

User avatar
Treloar
Posts: 112
Joined: 28 Nov 2015, 09:57
Location: Australia

Re: SNR and Line Attenuation

Post by Treloar » 21 Mar 2018, 08:53

Speeds doesn't worry me too much, I want better latency and reduced packetloss if at all possible.

It's a Billion 7800N

Internode used to be really good with my ping and no packetloss, but of late it's been bad for dropped connections...
0 x

Post Reply